Nebraska Truck Driving Championships

June 2-3, 2017 Grand Island, NE

A statewide competition for professional heavy truck drivers who maintain accident-free driving records

The championships have four phases:

  1. A written test covering safety regulations and trucking industry facts
  2. A vehicle inspection in which drivers must identify defects
  3. An interview with a law enforcement officer
  4. A driving skills test in one of nine classes: step van, straight truck, three-axle truck, four-axle truck, five-axle truck, five-axle sleeper truck, tanker, flatbed or twin-trailer.

Winners in each class advance to the National Truck Driving Championships.

Nebraska Trucking member trucking companies sponsor their drivers and owner/operators to attend the two-day contest. Staff from member companies serve as volunteer officials for the competition.


NTDC January 19, 2017 Press Release - Nebraska Truck Driving Championships Installs New Chair

The Nebraska Truck Driving Championships (NTDC) is pleased to announce David J. Dailey with Lyman Richey Corporation, Omaha as the new chairman. Daily accepted the position on January 13. “I’m excited to serve as the chair of this long-standing event. This event brings the ‘best of the best’ drivers in Nebraska in for a weekend of friendly competition, fellowship and is very family friendly. As chairman, I’m pleased to announce that Make-A-Wish Nebraska is our designated charity,’ said Dailey.

To find out more about the NTD new Chair, see the other 2017 NTDC Committee Members -
Click here to Read the Full Press Release

Click Here for our 2016 Truck Driving Championships Photo Gallery 

2016 NTDC logo

2016 NTDC Winners - Congratulations!

Grand Champion, Toby Kort of FedEx Freight, Inc.
Straight: David Korkosz, Werner Enterprises
Three-axle: Larry Derr, Werner Enterprises 
Four-axle: Thomas Canning, Old Dominion Freight Line
Five-axle: Toby  Kort, FedEx Freight, Inc.
Five-axle sleeper: Jeff McKenzie, Wal Mart Transportation
Tanks: Tim Anderson, ABF Freight System Inc 
Flatbed: Terry  Durham, Werner Enterprises
Twin-trailer:  Rich  Boyd, Crete Carrier Corporation
Step van: Adam Stroup, FedEx
Mixer: Andrew Ward, Lyman-Richey Corporation
Team: Wal Mart Transportation
Professional Excellence Award: Toby  Kort, FedEx Freight, Inc.
Jerry Wessel "All-Around-Driver" Award: Clint Rast, ABF Freight System Inc.
"Bucky" Buchholz Top Driver Award: Tim  Anderson, ABF Freight System Inc.
Kurt Everett Vehicle Condition Award: Toby  Kort, FedEx Freight, Inc.
Rookie of the Year Award: Ian  Franck, Hunt Transportation, Inc.